THE SAGA OF RAGNAR LOTHBROK AND SONS BOOK I by Saxo Grammaticus has been added to Our Site



I have just posted ‘THE SAGA OF RAGNAR LOTHBROK AND SONS’ by SAXO GRAMMATICUS  (Circa 1200 AD) as translated by Sir Oliver Elton to the website under the Book Heading of that name.

Saxo Grammaticus (c.1200) by Wiki

THE SAGA OF RAGNAR LOTHBROK AND SONS  by Saxo Grammaticus  (Circa 1200 AD)

This version of The Saga of Ragnar Lothbrok and Sons is quite a bit longer and more complex than the version found at the tail end of the Volsung Saga and is found at the tail end of Saxo’s Nine Books of Danish History and constitutes all of Book Nine.  It starts by covering Ragnar’s forefathers, Sigurd Ring, his father and perhaps King Ring, his grandfather, ruler of Ringerike province, upland of the Vik, where Oslo now sits.  When his father died of wounds from battle, Ragnar took over as King of Denmark in Liere.

Just Posted: Book I of the Nine Books of Danish History by Saxo Grammaticus, which covers the earliest Danish Kings, the Skjoldungs.  While Ragnar Lothbrok was a relatively later king, Book I tells the stories of Kings Humble, Dan and Angul, from whom the Angles of Jutland and Angleland are sprung.  Then Lother and his son Skjold, then Gram and his sons, Guthorm and Hadding, who takes up much of Book I.

See “The VARANGIANS Series” by Brian Howard Seibert at for more on this decidedly distinct take on the Vikings of Northern Europe and the Varangians of Rus’ (Russia).

The VARANGIANS Series (The Lying Sagas of Denmark):

Book One, “The Saga of Hraerik ‘Bragi’ Hraegunarson,” recreates Book Five of Saxo’s work to show how Erik Ragnarson was Rurik of Novgorod and also illuminate the origins of the name Rus’ and how it evolved from Hraes’ in ninth century Russia and how the name Varangians originally meant Va Rangers or Way Wanderers of the Nor’Way.

Book Two, “The Saga of Helgi ‘Arrow Odd’ Hraerikson,” recreates Arrow Odd’s Saga of c. 1200 to illustrate how Arrow Odd was Prince Helgi (Oleg in Slavic) Hraerikson of Kiev

Book Three, “The Saga of Ivar ‘the Boneless’ Hraerikson,” reveals how Ivar the Boneless Ragnarson was actually Prince Ivar (Igor in Slavic) Hraerikson of Kiev and then King Harde Knute of Denmark.

Book Four, “The Saga of Svein ‘the Old’ Ivarson,” demonstrates how Prince Svein ‘the Old’ (Slavic: Sviatoslav ‘the Brave’) of Kiev later moved to Norway and fought to become King Sweyn Forkbeard of Denmark.  But before being forced out of Russia, he sated his battle lust by crushing the Khazars and attacking the great great grandfather of Vlad the Impaler in a bloody campaign into the Heart of Darkness of Wallachia against the Army of the Impalers and their 666 salute.  The campaign was so mortifying that the fifteen thousand pounds of gold that the Emperor of Constantinople paid him to attack them seemed not nearly enough, so Prince Svein attacked the Eastern Roman Empire itself.  He came so close to defeating the greatest empire in the world, that later Danish Christian Kings would call his saga, and the sagas of his kin, “The Lying Sagas of Denmark” and set out to destroy them.

Book Five, “The Saga of Valdamar ‘the Great’ Sveinson”, establishes how Grand Prince Vladimir ‘the Great’ of Kiev was also known as Prince Valdamar Sveinson of Gardar, who supported his father, Sweyn Forkbeard, in attacks upon England and later became King Canute ‘the Great’ of England and also King Knute ‘the Great’ of Denmark and Norway

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s